Safety bubble

Finally I am in Brazil. The arrival date had been postponed from beginning of August to middle of September so I had also enough time to go to visit my family and friends in the Czech Republic before leaving the continent for half a year.

Leaving everyone was not easy. Life in the Czech Republic turned out to be amazing, always having something interesting to do and meeting with inspiring people. I broke down on several occasions thinking that leaving my sweet home is the last thing I want. I need friends around myself so why the hell do I always go to new places where I know nobody?… Loneliness is the worst and maybe the only fear I have about this journey.

Nevertheless, I got on the plane on Sunday. We took off and I could not go back anymore. So here I am, in São Paulo. So far the experience has been very different from what I’m used to. But that just because the British Council has taken a great care of everything. I did not need to stress how to get from the airport to my accommodation because a driver picked me up. I did not need to contact couchsurfers because they paid me a really nice hotel room. I don’t need to go to search for places to eat out because I’ve got all meals provided. It is a really luxurious and stress-less, but also it means that I haven’t experienced the country at all, yet. It is a very enjoyable change not to worry about all these things and having everything perfectly organised. But it is also a bit boring.

I am looking forward to Saturday when I go from São Paulo to Assis my final destination. I am going to use their local transport which everybody warns me against and hopefully I’ll have a better chance to experience a more authentic Brazil.

Leave a comment