Getting off my high horse

I have fallen in love. Deeply and crazily, in a way I have not experienced before. His name is Canario and he made me to understand that I  am an arrogant idiot.

Canario is intelligent, adventurous, friendly, super strong. He’s got nearly everything I’ve always admired in people. I met him last weekend in the Brazilian countryside and it was love at first sight (at least from my side). We seem to share all our passions. We both love nature and we can spend hours and hours outdoors. We both prefer to go to places where we won’t meet people, nor cars. We enjoy silence and we can understand each other without words. At least he can. Canario doesn’t talk. Ever. He’s a horse. And yes I love him  as weird as  it may sound to some. And yes he probably thinks I’m a naive selfish princess that ignores her own weaknesses, thus getting us both in trouble.

P1020161

At the weekend I went to a farm of my friend’s parents. They own cattle, chickens and horses and they grow their own vegetable. After they saw how I loved the place and how I enjoyed riding the horse the last time, they invited me to come again. And so I did (I really hope that Brazilians really mean their invitations and that I was not expected to understand that it is only a polite way to give goodbye).

P1020146 - CópiaP1020183

P1020153

I spent two beautiful days with Canario – the horse,  his other horse friend and Camila who volunteered to be my guide in the endless labyrinth of Brazilian fields and jungle. On the third day, Camila and I agreed that I knew the area well enough so I could ride the horse on my own. I was so incredibly happy. I could take him wherever I wanted, as fast as I liked, for as long as I desired.

12180095_1081504598534853_1073462974_n12016460_1081504605201519_1029327143_n

For two hours I was enjoying the enlightening feeling of freedom. On Canario’s back, I could see much more of the beauty around than I ever can from the ground (the plants grown there are higher than me, but not if I´m on the horse´s back, HA!).P1020151 - Cópia I sang to him Czec12188520_1081504611868185_1642911195_nh and English songs and he didn’t mind that it was not very melodic. And I asked him to go faster and faster for the mere joy of movement.

It was midday so the sun was getting stronger and stronger and I was running out of water. Clearly, it was time to go home. Home… Where is home? I thought I knew but Canario was protesting. He wanted to take a different direction and I let him. However, later I thought he must have been wrong so I took the lead. Then I lost my confidence so I let Canario to search for the way. And he did! What a smart horse. He was actually taking me towards the farm. When we arrived, suprise suprise, we both realised that it was not our farm and there was nobody in to ask for help. I could sense Canario’s disappointment. He was clearly tired and neither of us knew where to go.

“Onde vamos agora?” “Dove andiamo adesso?” “Co ted, koniku?” What do we do now?” I asked him in all languages I know and he just looked at me sadly, with no answer.

12182241_1081504581868188_914247189_n
“Well, don’t worry. I know where to go. I’ll get us home.” I confidently said, this time only in English because it was getting to tiring to talk. Needless to say (for those who are familiar with my sense of direction) that Canario wasn’t back home not even 12  hours later.

We walked together under the hot sun for another two hours, without any water. I walked next to him to offer some moral support but he didn’t seem to care. He wanted to be home and so did I. I could not stand the thirst, heat and Canario’s sad silence anymore so I had to call my friend’s parents for help.

They came to rescue me with tons of water which I think was very close to saving my life. Their friend who was suppose to know the area very well came with them and offered to ride the horse back to the farm. It was actually not far from there. Yet, an hour later, the friend and the horse were still not back.This was somewhat alarming. Two hours later they were still not back which was very alarming. Three hours later they were still missing and this was extremely alarming
because it was getting dark and the area is full of snakes and wild cats which may be harder to avoid at night.
Another rescue mission had to be sent to the fields to search for them.

12182039_1081504541868192_1029785879_n

Fortunately, they were found. They just couldn’t cross the river and find their way through the labyrinth of fences that is there to keep the cattle at their place. It’s a mystery to everyone (including me), how I managed to  appear at the other side of the river. Since it was already dark when they were found, it was decided that the horse would sleep over at  another farm and only the day after somebody would take him home. I hope he’s home now and he’s not too traumatised for having encountred the human stupidity = me.

For three years I dated a guy who was able to find a way from the most impossible places and get us home safe. He was also able to find drinking water in the most impossible conditions. And because he was able to do that, I started to think that I can do that. I bacame ignorant of my bad sense of direction and arrogantly started to think that I can’t get lost. I’m glad I learnt my lesson in Canario’s great company and not on my own in the middle of jungle. I’m upset that I  probably lost his (Canario’s)  trust and he (Canario) might never want to see me again. But hey, he’s my best friend so this can’t be the end of our adventures.

P1020177

PS I welcome suggestions for really good GPS devices that could navigate me even in the mountains. Any idea?

One thought on “Getting off my high horse

Leave a comment